Mantra Learning

Telephone: 0333 220 6646

Accreditations Mantra Learning is accredited by some of the UK's largest awarding bodies to deliver and assess qualifications and apprenticeships.

Qualifications explained

A qualification is intended to show employers, teachers and learners what someone has learnt and can do as a result of that achievement. The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) set out the levels against which a qualification can be recognised in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. This framework helps learners to make informed decisions about the qualifications they need, and help employers and providers assess what qualifications a candidate has.

The QCF is comprised of nine levels, and set out the basis on which qualifications are approved, so that everyone can have confidence in the standards of qualifications and the consistency between these qualifications in terms of levels, size, content, use of titles, etc. Qualifications are best understood by their level of difficulty, size and, of course, their content. Each accredited qualification has a level according to the qualifications framework it is on.

Levels are a standard way of comparing how challenging a qualification is and what learners should be able to do once they have successfully completed it. Qualifications which are not accredited are not nationally recognised. Defining the size of a qualification is dependent, in part, by the framework to which it is accredited.

All accredited qualifications can be found on the National Database of Accredited Qualifications, where you can also view the level and a basic outline of the content of a qualification and the units it contains.

All qualifications on the QCF have titles which consistently describe what is in the qualification (its content), how challenging it is (its level) and how much work it involves (its size). On the QCF the size of the qualification is indicated by its title and credit value.

QCF qualifications have three sizes: award, certificate, and diploma. Awards consist of 1-12 credits, certificates 13-36 credits, and diplomas 37 credits and above. A credit represents ten notional learning hours, and credits therefore describe how long a qualification takes to complete.

Vocational qualifications explained

Vocational Qualifications are work related, competence-based qualifications. They reflect the skills, knowledge and understanding needed to do a given job, and show that a candidate is competent in the area of work the qualification represents. The standards for these are designed and set by the relevant sector body, ensuring expertise in determining the skills that are gained when undertaking a qualification.

Apprenticeships explained

Apprenticeships are a form of vocational training that enable learners to gain skills necessary to succeed in their chosen career and earn money at the same time. They involve a combination of on and off the job training - apprentices work alongside experienced staff to gain job-specific skills and receive training. An Apprenticeship is not a qualification in itself, but a framework that contains separately certified elements, including an appropriate work-based qualification at either level 2 or level 3, key skills and in some cases a relevant knowledge based qualification such as a BTEC.

Apprenticeships have been developed by employers and tailored to meet the needs of specific employment sectors. Apprenticeships are open to anyone over 16 years who wants to gain new skills and qualifications. More information can be found on the Apprenticeships website.

Mantra training centres are easily accessible from: St Helens . Liverpool . Birkenhead . Crewe . Chester . Wrexham . Northwich . Runcorn . Widnes . Wigan . Bolton . Bury . Rochdale . Oldham . Ashton . Trafford Park . Stockport . Macclesfield